Wake Series 2

The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry, Volume II


SKU: 978-1-930630-47-5 Categories: ,

Product Description

What does it mean to be an Irish poet? Each of the five poets included in this volume— Seán Lysaght, Moya Cannon, Thomas McCarthy, John F. Deane, and Máire Mhac an tSaoi—provides a distinctive answer to this question. Like the first volume of The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry, the second volume introduces poets of varying ages and regions to a North American audience, showing through the eyes of contemporary poets what Ireland is like and how it is changing.

“The five may share some thematic similarities concerning landscape, political and religious tension, and cultural position, but each poet maintains his or her own vision and voice… well-established poets in Ireland, and all deserve wider recognition by North American readers.” Ray McManus, New Hibernia Review


Additional Information

Publication date: